2018 Battle for the Paddle Winners | United Way of St. Charles

2018 Battle for the Paddle Winners

2018 Battle for the Paddle




With 155 teams cooking jambalaya or gumbo, United Way of St. Charles celebrated our 2018 fundraising campaign at our 17th annual Battle for the Paddle. The event was held Thursday, October 4th at the Edward Dufresne Community Center in Luling, with live music provided by Five Finger Discount.


Thank you to all of the teams who participated and everyone who attended! Your support of United Way of St. Charles makes a real difference in St. Charles Parish.


Congratulations to John Foster on winning the 50/50 jackpot of $1,972.


The 2018 jambalaya & gumbo winners include:



3rd Place: Outcast Fishing Charters & Coach Craig Perrier’s Lawn Care “Worst Fishing Team Ever”

Lloyd Landry V, Bruiser Robert, Captain Lloyd Landry IV, Craig Perrier Jr., Greg Harrell, Mark LeBlanc, Louis DeJean

2nd Place: Valero “Coker Cookers”

Andy Rivere, David Harrison, Josh Roussel, Gary Entremont

1st Place: Destrehan Pharmacy

Steven Faucheaux, BJ Burkenstock, Ronnie Trosclair Sr., Patrick Phelan, Ronnie Trosclair Jr., Blake Trosclair



3rd Place: AM/PM 

Allen Thibodeaux, Kati Ware, Joe Bergeron, III, Doug Becnel, Cherie Thibodeaux, Curtis Dufrene

2nd Place: Bayer PC&E

Adam Keller, Angie Chiasson, Jaiprakash Patil, Jason Guidry

1st Place: Rain CII

Carl Sidelke, Derek Taylor, Kevin Bess, Travis Hymel


People’s Choice Jambalaya

3rd Place: Hargrove

Travis Ordoyne, Kathy Smith, Jeremy Chaisson, Jeremy Hymel

2nd Place: Bayou Steel Group “Lake Runners”

John Scott Bender, Jimmy Terry, Pete Smith, Earl Mendel

1st Place: Shell Norco “Hot Rod Joe & the Boys”

Brett Woltjen, Joe Waits, Travis Gilbert, Tray Haydel, Randy Pollet



People’s Choice Gumbo

3rd Place: OxyChem

Gerald Orgeron, Kenny Leret, Robbie Gaudet, Jared Waguespack, Brayden Orgeron, Jared Oubre, Mallory Ippolito

2nd Place: Shell Norco “Prestige Worldwide”

Brett Woltjen, David Marse, Ricky Bourgeois, Brian Torres, Brent Torres

1st Place: St. Charles Parish Hospital

Blake Boudreaux, Stede Palahang, Robin Rusich, Tara Alleman, Jimmy Miller, Blaine Guillot, Donna Palahang, Slade Palahang, Meredith Butcher, Becky Dupry, Andy Lawrence, Angela Boudreaux


To view photos from the event, click here.